Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

“Soy Mama” Revelation

on February 22, 2013

silksoymilk_jpg1Being a “lactose” intolerant girl, I thought I had found pay dirt with soy milk.

starbuckslatteIn my mind and as I understood it,  my calcium replacement came in the form of daily (sometimes more) soy lattes with one pump of toffee nut from Starbucks.

Soy milk replaced dairy on my cereal and any soy protein bar was welcome in my snack bag.

Soyproteinbar
My lattes were the coveted part of my day and I looked forward to each one with delight and great pleasure.
woman&starbucks
I drank them throughout my first pregnancy with confidence that I was getting a double whammy of my yummy experience as well as giving my baby and me the calcium we needed.

When my baby daughter was born, she had a little light brown mark on her hand that we affectionately referred to as her “latte spot”.

earthsbestsoyI breast fed her until she was 6 months old, which at the time was the “gold standard”.

I switched her to organic soy formula and as a first time mom, without a background in babies and childcare, I thought I really was doing a fabulous job.

She immediately began having the worst constipation issues imaginable. I took her to the doctor, but the soy formula issue was never in question.

The remedy that was given was in the form of drugs (suppositories)  or adding some glycerinsuppositoriestype of oil to her bottles.

constipatedbabySad to say, these did not work, and we battled with excruciating digestive problems for her baby years.

The proverbial “I wish I knew now” saying rings very true with my food choices during these important years.

Since then, I have come to understand the significance and dangers of soy in our diet.

industrialwasteSpecifically in infant formula, the soy is generally made from soy protein isolate (SPI).

SPI is a protein-rich powder extracted by an industrial process from the waste product of soy oil manufacturing.

During the processing of soy, many additional toxins are formed, including nitrates (which are carcinogens) and a toxin called lysinoalanine.  In studies, it has also shown to cause B12 and zinc deficiencies.

Soy is one of the top culprits in food allergies.

Unfermented soy has been linked to “estrogen dominance” in a woman’s body.
Soy can also suppress the thyroid, which can lower energy and create other health problems.
womaninpain
This was played out in my body as I suffered with chronic fatigue and a myriad of symptoms I have since found out are linked to consuming soy.

It can depress the immune system as well as cause endocrine system imbalances and decrease libido.

Sneezing-womanMy immune system had been so weakened that I would get a cold if someone sneezed across town.

My daily soy lattes, protein bars, and soy milk for my cereal were certainly contributing.

It was also setting me and my baby up for an increased risk of endometriosis, heart disease and cancer, specifically breast cancer.
soy-yummy-soy-milk-trader-joe's
It seems unreal that unfermented soy products can continue to be on the market and promoted as a health food.

FDA-ApprovedMost of us, as I did, simply trust the system that is set up to protect us and our health.

But, as you begin to peel back the marketing layers and get to the truth, you will find answers and become more empowered to make the best and most informed choices.

Although I wish I had this knowledge when I was pregnant to avoid the many pitfalls of consuming soy, I am blessed to be able to share it with you so perhaps you can live a more vibrantly healthy life with your kids.

Please refer to this article for more insight into why FERMENTED SOY is a better option.

http://bodyecology.com/articles/fermenting_allergy_soy.php#.USK1pr-9Kc1

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/09/18/soy-can-damage-your-health.aspx

http://www.naturalhealthstrategies.com/dangers-of-soy.html

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/soy-milk-dangers.html

New Leaf MIC Logo no background copy2At Moms in Charge, we are here to give you more insight and alternatives to making healthier choices.

Join our movement to get tips, recipes and hear from experts on this and many other subjects to help you on your health journey.  Join HERE!!!

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

