Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Honoring His Path: A Gracefully, Healthy Valentines Day

on February 12, 2013

ONEFoodClassHouseYou have had a revelation about your food and are learning about superfoods and changing the way you prepare them!
MIC (216 of 235)
You are so excited and enjoying this new found way of life and eating.

However, you may have discovered that your husband may not share your same sentiments!
If your husband is like most, he may be pushing back and even grumpy about it.

VdayWith Valentines Day only a few days away, I wanted to take a few minutes to share some tips and insight into ways to nurture and honor the men in our lives, even if they do not share our views or are on the same path as us.

DottyinCreek
When I first began my journey, I went “all in”. Even though I was transitioning while learning, I was still very committed to the healthy choices.

disappointedhusbandHowever, in doing so, I realized my choices were not particularly celebrated by my husband.

I have been learning the importance of grace to give those we love as we make new discoveries.

I had a very wise woman share with me at the very beginning when I was actually annoyed and upset that my husband wouldn’t see it how I saw it and care as much about his health as I did.lightintrees

She shed light into my life that I feel important to share with you.

She told me that the path that my husband was on was his own path.

He came for a completely separate background and life experiences than I had.

She went on to share that although I may desire certain things for him or want him to “change”, it is not my responsibility to try to make it happen.

man-walking-on-path-in-forestMy responsibility is to bless and honor exactly where he is on his own journey.

The point is, if your husband is in a place and making choices you feel are not the best, have compassion for him, love him and continue on your own journey.
coupleholdinghands
While he may not share all of your views, he will be appreciative if you honor his place by preparing foods that continue to appeal to his taste buds and where HE IS on his journey!
Woman reads book

I am still in the learning process, as I’m sure I will be until my time is over on this earth.

I am learning that I can prepare his favorite foods, if I learn healthier ways and ingredients to add.
JessicaLopez
Our MIC partner, Jessica Lopez, wrote a very insightful blog about helping with this process!

Please read it, and remember in your “healthifying”, do it with honor, grace and love!

Click HERE to read Jessica’s blog!!!

 

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

 

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

