Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

The Big Girl Bed – “Letting Go”

on October 22, 2012

By:Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

My sweet little baby just kept on growing.. It was time to transition her into her big girl bed…

But, as life continued to get busy, I kept putting it off because that would mean getting someone to buy it, or come get it, then getting other furniture set up…

The whole thing just seemed too overwhelming …. Not to mention the issue of her being my last baby and wanting to hold onto the crib…

So, time continued on until she was 3.5 years old and begged daily for her big girl bed, had way outgrown her crib and it was now becoming a pressing issue.

I finally broke down and bought a big girl bed on line and gave her crib to my dear, pregnant friend.

Saying goodbye was a bit tough.. But that was just the beginning.

The new bed finally arrived and all the million parts got put together…Sheridan was so overjoyed!!!

EXCEPT, there was the worst toxic smell I had ever smelled from furniture off-gassing from it!
I tried all I knew, but it still was stifling.

After 2 nights, toxic headaches, baby coughing and then the kids getting sick, we took the bed apart and it wound up in the garage, hoping for a Craig’s list buyer who didn’t care about the smell..

We got a buyer, or so we thought. After a 2 week long scheme, we almost got “had” by a fraudulent buyer.
After escaping this, there was still no buyers for this bed.

So, there it sat…Toxifying my already growing cluttered garage!!

It was just all too much!!!

I really needed to get in the garage for some major projects plus, IT WAS TOXIC for us to even go in there…

What was I to do??

Well, in the process of all of this, I was also trying to de-clutter and purge some of my kids’ baby clothes and toys they were growing out of…

I got a message that someone was on the way to get the donated clothes and toys.

Fear and panic gripped my heart…
Getting rid of stuff is and has been a difficult and painful experience for me…

I asked to have my friend, Jackie come ” hold my hand”.
Although I knew it was going to a fabulous cause, letting go was all too much.

Of course, while in the garage “shoveling out” and trying to deal with my attachment issues, I had to continue breathe these crazy toxic fumes.

So, here I was, having an anxiety attack about toys and old clothes and bumping into and breathing ” headache air” from
a bed I was holding on to in hopes someone would buy it!!

It in middle of all the madness, I got an epiphany that all of this “hoarding” was taking a huge toll on me and it was time to let it go and “cut my losses”.

I instantly gave the bed away to someone who could use it to help others and I began to open myself a little tributary beginning to form from the stagnant pond of this place in my life.

I know this is something that I need help working through, as just “getting rid” of  clutter is not always as easy as just coming in with the 3 labeled boxes and getting all organized.

Many (and most) times, there are deep seated reasons in the recesses of our soul as to why we continue to keep it for all the various ” what if’s, sentimental values , and a thousand other legitimate reasons to keep piling up , buying more bins and getting more storage space.

So, I feel a glimmer of light and hope as the outlet has begun to flow and excited that an amazing perfectly timed program is being launched from one of my heroes, Tera Warner!

Join me as I learn practical strategies for letting go and finding freedom in getting “light”.
You can sign up NOW!! Sign up here and get prepared to start on November 4th.

Don’t let the “baby” keep growing until there’s a crisis to make a change! Take charge NOW!

Thankfully, we found a non-toxic big girl bed and are moving forward!

Let’s get “clear” together, so we can all begin to be a river of flowing love and life to ourselves and others!!

 

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

