Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

The Top 6 Inflammatory Foods to Avoid

on July 13, 2012

The Top 6 Inflammatory Foods to Avoid

By Nina Manolson, MA, LMT, CHHC
Holistic Health Coach & Smokin’ Hot Mom Mentor!

It’s been 5 years since I’ve been chugging green smoothies!

I’m a huge green smoothie fan!

Every day, I blend my greens up with a lemon and a banana, to make my delicious green smoothie.

I do it because:
It’s delicious.
It gives me energy.
It keeps my skin clear.
It keeps my weight where I want it.

But the real reason I love my green smoothie so much is because it helps my body move into an alkaline pH state.

Our body, just like a fish tank, has a pH balance. It can either be alkaline or acidic.

We want an alkaline pH in our body because research has proven that having an acidic pH causes inflammation.

Inflammation is the root cause of many diseases:
Cancer
Arthritis
Heart Disease
Diabetes
Auto-immune diseases
and more
So, how do you avoid inflammation?

Start by eliminating these 5 inflammatory foods:

Sugar:

Sugar raises your blood-sugar levels and then crashes them down. That sugar roller-coaster contributes to inflammation.

Meat :

Most meat (in the US) is fed on feed that’s loaded with Omega 6 fatty acids but low in Omega 3’s. That imbalance of Omega 3 Fatty Acids is a recipe for inflammation.

Alcohol:

That ‘healthy’ glass of red wine is walking you right into the land of inflammation.

Refined Grains:

Your white flour bagel, donut, pizza crust and muffin are all refined grains. This simple carbohydrate converts to a simple sugar. Now we’re back to the sugar-roller coaster problem, which creates an inflammatory environment.

Oil:

Common cooking oils like corn, safflower, cottonseed, soy and canola oil are high in Omega 6 oils and very low in Omega 3 fatty acids – again triggering an inflammatory response.


Dairy:

Many people without even realizing it, are sensitive to dairy. Often people don’t feel “allergic” to dairy, they just don’t feel good, because their bodies are reacting with silent inflammation as a way to cope with the allergen of dairy.

If reading this list leaves you thinking “then what the heck am I supposed to eat?!…”

I invite you to join me for the Anti-cancer detox:

Anti-Cancer Detox Link

There’s a whole world out there of delicious food that will help you feel great and fight disease!

Let me walk you through a delicious and easy week of anti-inflammatory foods.

You’ll also be detoxing with the wonderful Dusty Showers and Mara Gorden who run the 2nd Basemen which is a foundation that helps families in need who are walking through the challenging journey of breast cancer.

50% of the proceeds for the detox is going to the 2nd Basemen Inc. to help families in need!( link to 2nd basemen Inc)

We’re starting on July 23rd and registration ends on July 20th. Check out the details here.

Nina Manolson

About the author:

“I help busy moms prioritize themselves so they look & feel their very best. I also teach them to feed their kids healthy, quick & tasty food.”

Mom & Health Coach

http://SmokinHotMom.com

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

