Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Making A Wish

on April 23, 2012

It was a bright sunny Saturday morning.  We did not have plans on our calendar, which was a welcome change.

I saw a post on FB that said there was a festival which included raw foods, sustainable living workshops and fun for kids.

In my excitement, I announced to my kids and the moms in  charge on Facebook about this wonderful opportunity ahead.

I headed to yoga then hurried to join my family, barely making it just in time to go up in the gigantic orange balloon ride.

I didn’t have time to really see all that was going on as I sprinted from my car to the big Orange ball. In my haste, I did see a flash of a “Fat Burger” food truck as I ran past to the beat of a live band blaring  80’s music.

But I was here!! What a fabulous day it was going to be.
As we were being lifted into the sky, joy was flowing from my heart. I was there with my kids! This day was going to be fabulous being together, exploring the various crafts of making healthy food and art in a fun environment.

I was basking in these wonderful thoughts when my husband interrupted to tell me, “Your festival is NOT today.”

Screech! The Lovely music on my record went silent! Not only did I have to hurry and let everyone know of my mis-read and wrong info, but our day was now all bummed out.

It turned out, the festivities were for the “Make a Wish” foundation.
It began to make sense why the lady next to us had a badge around her neck that said “make a wish pass”.

As I reorganized my thoughts and came down from my “high” , figuratively and literally, this same lady began talking to me as she frantically was concerned about her “wild kids”, as she called them, from sliding through the opening to look out from the big orange balloon we were on.

I noticed that one of her “wild ones” had been steadily munching on a cookie and had a blue mouth and hands from it.

The mom said ” he loves his cookie, he made it down at the cookie decorating table.”

Of course, this got my attention and my thoughts now turned from living in raw healthy euphoria to what is really going on around us.

The phrase “Make a Wish” carries an extremely great weight with it. For all of these parents it is a painful and mostly hopeless time as the last wish of their child is granted.

The implication of this event began to hit me deep in my heart as we walked over to the “pretend” photo area.

Sheridan, my 3 year old, put on a crown prop and posed in front of the painted castle as she pretended to be a princess. I couldn’t help but to have several emotions arise within me. Gratefulness for her health and of my other kids but sympathy and sadness for so many who are in the midst of the battle for their kids’ lives.

Childhood illness is something nobody ever wants to face.
But, it is tragically a reality for many.

I am so glad there are people who are willing to give their time and energy to help those sick and in pain; those who are diligently working to find a cure.

I know their heart is in the right place to bring them joy and health.

However, as I look around at the choices we continue to give our kids and how the media continues to market to them, it leaves me wondering how this can continue to happen.

Learning how important what we give our kids to eat, what we put on their skin and in their environment is compels me to bring this message louder to those who may not know.

Perhaps the information of the dangers of pesticides, sugar, processed foods, soda, food dyes, chemicals, HFCS, MSG among many other health antagonists, is not known by these parents.

Perhaps, the trust in our FDA and media to police our food supply and keep us safe has lulled them into a false sense of security to allow their kids to eat whatever is “out there” without truly understanding the dangers.

I believe children are given to us as children for a reason.

They are not given to us not knowing what to choose or being able to make their own choices.

It is up to us as parents to become educated to know what the healthiest choices are for our kids.
We must be in charge enough to provide these to them now, while their bodies are most vulnerable and growing so quickly.

It seems like a perfect plan that children are given to parents in a helpless state. We have to make every choice for them upon birth, then continually throughout the first years of their lives until eventually they are faced with making their own decisions.

As small children, left to their own devices, they will make the choices that perhaps will not help them have a healthy start and safeguard them from illness.

It is our responsibility to lay the foundation of healthy immune systems for our kids, so if they do make unhealthy choices as they grow up, their base of health will be stronger to withstand the times of finding their “own way”.

As I played frisbee in the sun on the green grass with my family,  listening to the band at the Great Park, I felt so blessed.

There are no guarantees in life.

There aren’t even any guarantees if you do everything just right that your kids won’t get sick.

However, by getting empowered with more information and making better choices, the chances greatly increase to raise healthy, vibrant kids.

Reflecting on this day of enlightenment that I almost allowed to slip away by dwelling on my own personal disappointment, I began making a wish!

My wish is for more moms to learn the truth; to live without fear and be able to make the choices needed to give their kids the best chance to not ever be faced with ever needing to “Make a Wish”!

Together this wish can come true. We must believe and put our beliefs into action!

Join the Charge!!!

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

 

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

