Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Strawberry Fields

on April 17, 2012

“Look, MOM!!! Fresh strawberries!”

These were the words of my sweet little 4 and 6 year olds as we were heading home from Legoland. All along the freeway are acres and acres of strawberry fields.

How many times had we been by here and were so excited to get a “healthy treat” after a day at an amusement park? But this day was different. I had come to understand over the past year how many pesticides were absorbed into the thin and porous skin of these beauties.

My heart sank as I knew how excited my little ones were looking forward to this fun and yummy tradition. “Well, guys,” I said, “Let’s check and see if they are organic.”  Thankfully by this time on our health journey they were sort of getting used to it, but this was also about the time my oldest daughter began telling me, “When I grow up, I’m not going to eat organic.” Of course this was “encouraging news”, but still, I pressed on. We piled out of the car to the strawberry stand where my kids asked “Are these organic?! Please, Please!!”

The lovely lady working told us that unfortunately they were not.

This is when my “Mom in Charge” mode had to kick in strong and with great resolve.  After all, they were JUST strawberries, right?? Fresh picked, RIGHT THERE!! So, I politely declined the overflowing and beautifully displayed basket of the amazing looking fruit.
I remember this being one of those defining moments when I knew I had drawn that proverbial line in the sand and my kids were there to see me dig in deeply.

My daughter asked I began to drive off, “Mom, why do we eat organic?” It was then that I was able to share the reason in the most simple way that I could. I knew how important the answer was, and I was answering to their total disappointment and confusion about what had just happened. In the most basic way I told them that food like strawberries that are not organic are sprayed with bug spray because the bugs love them. Then, because the strawberry’s skin is so thin, the bug spray gets into the berries and when we buy them, we are eating the bug spray. “Ew!!!” My kids replied, and in that moment I felt like I jumped over a huge hurdle in the Olympics on my way to winning the GOLD!

So, ‘tis the season! Strawberry stands on every corner, most of them selling out before the end of the day. Unsuspecting customer after customer drop in to buy baskets and flats of what they believe are a “healthy choice”.

How many times have you gone to the “Fresh Strawberries” stand to bite into a succulent strawberry with beautiful red juice dripping down your and your kid’s mouths, onto your shirts? I know this has been me more times than I can count.  After all, it was not too long ago that I had NO IDEA what was on and absorbed into those strawberries that could literally KILL US!

Moms are buying these sweet, fresh fruits everyday and it’s sad and outrageous how many children’s susceptible, little bodies are absorbing loads of these toxins. The pesticides, specifically, methyl iodide, that is being sprayed on these beautiful berries are so  a mandate has been given to pull it off the market.

This brings up the obvious situation in our country, which is that we are
This is yet another reason we all need to be diligent in getting educated so we can understand WHAT is being put ON and IN our food supply, and make better informed decisions. So much of this is going on and we as moms MUST begin to realize how much IT MATTERS TO BUY ORGANIC as much as possible, especially the “DIRTY DOZEN.”

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/need-to-know/health/the-dirty-dozen-and-clean-15-of-produce/616/  WITHOUT COMPROMISE!

This article gives more insight into this pesticide situation: http://grist.org/industrial-agriculture/strawberry-lovers-rejoice-methyl-iodide-is-off-the-market/

I am happy to say that my kids have come around and now are the ones who ask “Is that organic?”  It has been a process of empowerment through example, teaching and fun interactive examples.
As we at Moms in Charge have our second Meet-Up at Tanaka Farms, I am so excited to be able to show our kids how easily strawberries can grow without using harmful chemicals, but rather using a type of co-planting that causes a natural pesticide. You will see onions strategically growing in between the strawberry plants, for example. The strawberries thrive without the pesky little bugs and we get the pleasure of enjoying these juicy delights, knowing how amazingly wonderful they are for our little ones bodies, and ours too!

Enjoy the juicy yummy red drippings!!! And may your strawberry fields forever be ORGANIC!

 

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

