Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Your Spring Day

on April 6, 2012

The pulse of Spring is beating strongly.

This season is a time of fresh starts.
It’s a time to rethink old thoughts, habits and ways of doing things.

Seasons are for a reason.
They come not only as a cycle needed for proper life function, but also to remind us not to keep doing the same things over and over again.
It’s just not healthy.

Even the earth, plants and animals know inherently that without change, there would not be proper growth.

Although the shifts and changes may seem at times to be awkward, uncomfortable and even unsightly, they are necessary.

As I have come full circle around the sun with my cleansing, I have begun to realize how cleansing my physical space is an important piece of my process.

I have been reading a book about clearing clutter called Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui by Karen Kingston, and have been slowly gaining the courage and motivation to begin clearing mine.

As you may know, sometimes action on what you know you need to do takes mental preparation.

So, I have continued to pass by the piles of books and other things that need dealing with without doing anything about it…

Finally today I sat down and began throwing away old papers and magazines and other things I have been holding onto.
There are still piles and stuff I need to deal with but I am not giving up.

I will tell you, it’s a slow process for me and one I have decided to give myself grace to go through.

I am finding how important it is to just start somewhere.
I may not be able to clear it all out in one week or a month, but at least knowing I’m doing something is already beginning to make me me feel lighter and more empowered.

Let’s face it, we all have our “stuff”. Whether it’s bad food habits, addictions, toxic relationships, anger issues or clutter-ism, we are human so we just get ourselves in ruts and unhealthy patterns of living.

It’s comfortable to us; even the unhealthy stuff.  But, it may be full of such stagnant energy, like a river blocked, holding us back from growing into our authentic selves.

So, here you are. It’s Spring. You see the budding trees, flowers blooming and you may not have asked yourself the question: “Is this happening in my personal life?”.
I am here to remind you now, not by my budding branches, or lush green leaves, but through working through my own stuff that it’s time for a change!

So what can you do?
Here is a great place to start:
1. Acknowledge where you are.
2. Write down what you already know you want to change
but are afraid to admit:
3. Cut out a picture from a magazine or print from the Internet the way you envision your life will be once you make this (or these) changes.
4. Identify and write down what is holding you back.
5. Underneath this, write two columns.
A. What it’s costing you to stay here without changing
B. What you would gain by changing
6. Decide if it’s worth it to you by weighing these two columns.
7. If you have your WHY, you are ready!!
8. Take one step to make the change today or when possible
9. Continue making a change everyday or continuing the new change you started the day before.
10. Don’t look back and enjoy the amazing new part of you.

I encourage you to take your collage of your intentions of change and how you imagine it will look and put it in your “Change Book”.

If you do these few simple things, I know whatever you need to help you on this journey of change will begin to be brought to your path.

I’m excited to hear from my new “buds” and how your life is beginning to blossom.

If your first change is as simple as mine was by throwing out an old magazine you are keeping “just in case”, celebrate it..
You did SOMETHING 😉

Today may be your “spring” day you do something different that leads you to the full “Summer” of your life!

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

