Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

A Little Spilled Juice

on April 4, 2012

The first official day of cleansing started today.

We all gathered to prepare for the week ahead and I was excited about what was ahead.

I woke up by lighting a candle, saying a prayer of thanks and intention and breathing to clear any negative energy and get the new day started.
Last Spring I went on a retreat from all of the responsibilities and distractions and irritations of daily life. It was an amazing time to really focus on myself and get greater clarity and rejuvenate.

This cleanse, well, let’s just say, a polar opposite as i quickly had to leave the soft glowing light from my candle to rush around making breakfast and trying to get the kids hurry and get ready for school, dashing my daughter into chapel late then scouring the bookstore to get another sweater which she is required to wear.

I decided I needed to slow down so I parked and took Carson in to chapel to join Charla.

All was well…

We left and headed to Carson’s  appointment. I dropped him off and sat outside to drink my Emerald Green juice.

When you are on a juice cleanse, each drop is precious.
This is your meal, sustenance and  coveted commodity for the next few days.

Breaking patterns of normal routine even for one day is quite challenging.
We all can and do become attached to the way we go about our lives, the type of food and how we consume it.

I have done this before, so I wasn’t anxious. I had the perfect plan for my juice.

My first few glorious sips were delicious!
I would sit in the sun while my son was in his appointment, continue to drink my yummy juice while I read and caught up on emails.

Little did I realize, as I went to shake up the juice, that I had left the lid loose. As I turned it over to make sure it was all mixed, half of my treasured emerald poured onto the pavement beside me, trickling away like a green river.

I must say my first instinct was to cry and figure out how to get it to come back in my jar, even though that was completely illogical.

There was nothing I could do.
I spilled it…it was gone and now I had a choice.

Things like this often happen in our lives. Perhaps it is something we caused; were careless and things were lost or ruined.

Or, maybe someone has knocked over your beloved “juice” and completely messed up your best laid plans.

We each have a choice today as life happens or has already happened to us.

Letting go of our attachments is key to moving forward with grace and peace.

Coming into the understanding that things happen in our lives to teach us and help us to grow.

It is in these times of “spilled juice” that we become our best.

Holding on to our stuff, good, bad or indifferent, keeps us stuck in a place of stagnation. The end result is bad energy, and ultimately poor health.

By beginning to look at these as opportunities to release the things that are binding us; even if it’s  “good stuff”, will allow us to grow into the person we were created to be.

I decided to savor the bit of remaining juice instead of mindlessly gulping it down.

Each little sip became sweeter and more precious.

May today we choose to really be present and savor each moment we have been given and enjoy our “juicy” life 😉

P3

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

