Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Well Meaning Words & Choices

on February 20, 2012

“I thought your kids never get sick!?” were the words a well-meaning mom quipped to me as I was rushing late to pick up my oldest daughter from school.

Leading a group of moms to become empowered to make healthier choices for their kids, I suppose, puts flood lights on my health  and the health of my kids.

The truth is, nobody is ever 100% immune to sickness.
We live in a world that through many man-made factors, from chemicals to pollution, weakens our immune systems,
making us more susceptible to viruses and other invaders.

I must admit, the comment did send a wave of emotions to flow over me.
I felt a bit of shame and embarrassment that my kids were not model health warriors  walking around with an impenetrable force field against any sickness.

I thought about this for a few days, meanwhile still caring for a sick baby.

After pondering her comment and the pre-conceptions that perhaps made her think my kids never get sick, I realized the importance of sharing the struggles I have been through and that I continue to encounter and battle.

I spent almost 4 weeks of giving Sheridan’s body the tools and building blocks she needed naturally to fight off one of the nastiest viruses I’ve seen attack my kids’ bodies.  This included a horrible cough, cold, fevers , stomach pain  double ear infection, and 6 day bout of constipation! It was a rough month and many times I thought I would give in to giving antibiotics or other meds.
I have learned about homeopathy over the last 2 years and with the direction of my homeopath, I gave my little one the remedies to help her through the various symptoms that manifested throughout the virus running it’s course.
However, her cough persisted, keeping her up at night and she still had not had a bowel movement for 4 days.

So, I took her to see her an MD to cover all the bases.
She discovered that Sheridan had double ear infections.
Although the doctor gave me a prescription for antibiotics just in case I needed it,  she praised my efforts to support her body’s own innate ability to heal itself.
I took the prescription with the confidence that I would not need to fill it, as her body’s defense system was getting stronger by allowing it to stretch and push through the resistance of the virus.

Although I am thankful we have Dr’s and antibiotics for extreme cases and when absolutely necessary, I was relieved and beyond excited that her body THIS time got stronger and whole instead of weaker through needing drugs.

As a mom who did not understand this a few years ago, I didn’t have my own strength to trust the process of allowing my kids’ little bodies to fight off the bugs.
I rather almost begged doctors for meds to help shorten the time and relieve all their symptoms.
After all, we are all well-meaning moms, who do not want to see our kids suffer. It’s often scary to think we may not be doing everything medically available to cure them.

I went full speed ahead on the path of antibiotics, steroids, breathing treatments and anti-fever meds. However, it only led me to another illness soon after and set us on a sick-cycle that can cause any mom to feel at their wits end. The frustration finally led me to travel a different path.

I have learned and am still learning how to navigate the journey of health and sickness with my kids.

I’m getting stronger and more confident with each step forward and making choices that now support their bodies’ ability to overcome instead of being ones to succumb.

Today as I got my baby in her brand new “big girl” car seat, the joy I felt of seeing a clear nose and no cough was a “high” only a mom can understand!

Victory!!!

As you forge ahead on your path of health with your kids, be encouraged to know that you haven’t done something “wrong” if they get sick!
And may you begin gathering an arsenal of remedies NOW  to be able to support them more naturally and have your well-meaning efforts work more effectively.

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

