Moms In Charge

"ONE bite at a time!" ~Organic~Nourishing~Energizing~

Reminders

on February 15, 2012

Oh no!! I sent my daughter to school today in her uniform!  That’s normally perfect except somehow I didn’t get a reminder that today was “free dress”.

If you have kids that have to daily wear a school uniform, you know what a big deal it is to be able to wear their own sassy clothes.

But somehow amidst life’s hustle and bustle of keeping 3 kids healthy, organized, taken to and from activities, my moms in charge mission and constantly trying to find my “supermom” cape,  I didn’t get the schedule reminder.
So, off my nanny and I went to do the ever so familiar kid and accessory shuffle.

To and from the different schools and activities we went to make sure everyone had all items they needed for their parties and events of the day!

Thankfully, we have lots of reminders for today!

Red hearts, flowers, chocolates, signs, balloons and the parties all around. 

As I ran around in the usual busy-ness of my day, I realized how much I rely on these reminders to keep me from missing the important events on my schedule.

Unfortunately, many of us need this designated day, once a year in February, to remind us to tell the important people in our lives how much we love them.

But, just as fast as our days go by, so does the distance of time we actually take the time to appreciate the gift of the ones we love.

How many opportunities have we let go by without taking the time to give a smile, a hug, or tell someone how much they mean to us.


It may be in those rushed moments, we have missed out on giving someone just the encouragement they need to get through a difficult situation or the opportunity to build our relationships to be stronger instead of letting them continue to weaken through unspoken words or withholding our love.

I am thankful for the gentle reminders, emails, and calendars to keep us on track as we go about our busy lives.

The biggest reminder I have had today is the realization that I have needed a reminder to stop and appreciate those closest to me!

Thankfully, my daughter got her free dress outfit, I made it to 2 of the 3 parties, took my baby for a check-up and 
somehow managed all the other many details to do “life” today.

But from today the biggest reminder I heard loud and clear was the importance of making the heart of Valentine’s Day to beat steadily all year long. To give the gifts of love to not only my friends and family, but to all those I encounter.

May we all have this reminder set in the “email calendar ” of our hearts and minds this year.  😉

 

Blessings,

Dotty 🙂

Dotty Cropped2By: Dotty Hagmier, RN, BSN, CHC

As the president and founder of Moms in Charge and also a mom of three beautiful children, Dotty’s passion is to guide families into a place that will provide them with the best possible choices to raise healthy and vibrant children.

The Health Patriot

Faith. Family. Fitness. Freedom.

